top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaul Gault

Charge your battery!

Inspired by Alan Boyd's recent big trout I headed up to Killylane Reservoir early yesterday morning on the hunt for a specimen. This time I scouted the entire circumference of the lake and after a few searching casts arrived at a little rocky point jutting into deep water. A sizeable fish rolled on the surface about 20 yards out so I cast a humpy to a spot on what I guessed might be the line of travel. For once my intuition and accuracy seemed to gel for the line tightened almost as soon as the fly hit the water. After a few arm bending dives the fish came to the net - a beautifully marked brown trout of a couple of pounds. A quick snap was now in order so I could show Alan the evidence. I always carry an old compact camera for these jobs having once lost a phone to Davy Jones' locker and with the trout safely posed I reached into my jacket and pressed the power button. The camera came on. The battery icon blinked. The camera went off. Dead. I could have used the phone but the fish was out of the water long enough and would be too stressed by the time I extracted it from its watertight pouch and entered the password etc, etc. So the fish was gently returned to the lake and after getting some water over his gills made a few slow circles then shot into the depths. So the moral of the story is - REMEMBER TO CHECK YOUR BATTERY. Duh!

Anyway Alan, that's the way it happened; and it was bigger than yours. Honest.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2022 Season Report.

Well, I almost can't be bothered, and the less said the better. It would be true to say that fishing conditions on the local spate rivers were less than ideal, with spring and summer drought coupled w

bottom of page