top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaul Gault

For want of a stud....

....a fish was lost. We seem to have settled into the usual summer doldrums again, with long dry spells leading to low water levels on the spate rivers. So, in search of better fishing, my default action is to head to one of the local reservoirs - Killylane being my nearest. Fishing on this water is government controlled and it's regularly stocked with good sized brown trout - It's fly only, too. Anyway, a few days ago I headed off early in the morning as there was little wind and the reservoir is in rather exposed upland. It was also an opportunity to test my shiny new thigh waders. I tend to prefer thigh waders in the warmer months as chesties are a bit of a faff at the best of times, and I rarely wade that deep anyway. Even the expensive chest waders can spring leaks during their first season. Now, these particular thigh waders come with or without boot studs, but the studded type were out of stock - so I settled for the non-studded....

Conditions at the reservoir were perfect - calm, glassy water and plenty of trout rising. It was definitely a morning for dries, so I tied on a crane fly imitation as these work well here - even if no naturals are about. Little blue damsel flies were in evidence and I had tied a few blue bucktail patterns specifically for this time of year. A lot of fish seemed to be cruising close to the steeply sloping dam wall, so I headed there first.

The crane and damsel fly imitations were catnip to the trout with plenty of big savage attacks and several fish landed before too long. Eventually I connected with a real bruiser which put a good bend in the Greys 8 weight. He was well hooked and soon within netting distance, so I took a step forward into the water to get the net underneath him. But wait! No studs, stupid! - Too late. Before the message got from brain to leg my feet lost traction on the slippery stone and down I went, sliding below wader length towards the depths, cold water flooding my boots. Fortunately my free hand managed to find purchase and I avoided a complete ducking. Somehow I managed to keep hold of the precious Greys, but the trout had taken advantage of the slack line and made off. There were mixed feelings. I'd saved the rod, not to mention my car key which was in a waterproof pouch in my now soggy pocket. Also, there was nobody around to witness my embarrassment. The downside? Well, there was nobody around! I'm a fair swimmer, but reckon I wouldn't float too well with flooded waders and there was a lifebelt not 20 yards away which someone could have chucked. Mind you, for someone who spent the summers of his youth as a lifeguard on the north coast - that would have been a bad look.

The waders were of course fitted with studs at the earliest opportunity, and a day or two later I went back to the reservoir. This time, however, it was windy and there was only one exploratory nip on the fly. I stayed dry, though.....


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2022 Season Report.

Well, I almost can't be bothered, and the less said the better. It would be true to say that fishing conditions on the local spate rivers were less than ideal, with spring and summer drought coupled w

bottom of page