top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaul Gault

Join the Club.

Our Club open day has come and gone. Despite the atrocious weather we had good footfall, no doubt assisted by the lure of hot tea, coffee and biscuits. What angler could resist?

Now, if you're into fly fishing, there are a couple of things which don't do much for your inadequacy issues - which are (1) Really good fly tiers; (2) Really good casters - and we had three of them on hand at the venue in the shape of Michael Currie, Gary Smyth and Nigel Kernohan. Thanks guys for making me feel like I have two left thumbs and a broken right arm. During a break in the clouds I witnessed Michael effortlessly double hauling and shooting line oblivious to the wind and sending the fly like a rifle bullet past a big cherry tree. Had I been brave enough to embarrass myself that fly would be hanging high in the tree - Hell, I'd be chuffed to get as far as the tree.

The good news is these fellas are into saltwater fly fishing which is another side of the sport which I'm keen to learn more about. Roll on summer.




Gary and Nigel share their skills.










Michael shows how it's done.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2022 Season Report.

Well, I almost can't be bothered, and the less said the better. It would be true to say that fishing conditions on the local spate rivers were less than ideal, with spring and summer drought coupled w

bottom of page