top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaul Gault

The Dark Postie Rises.

We are now over a month into the Coronavirus lockdown and the daily statistics continue to make for grim and depressing reading. I had resolved not to write further blogs until I had something positive to report; then, the other day, something odd happened.

I was taking my permitted one hour morning constitutional along the road leading out of Broughshane when I chanced upon a Post Office van some distance from me, parked at the kerb. The postie had the rear doors open and was unloading a sizeable grey object. He briefly disappeared behind the van and as I drew level suddenly reappeared in the form of the legendary Caped Crusader; the Dark Knight himself - Batman. He looked familiar. He looked very familiar. Closing no more than the regulation two metres he revealed his identity. It was none other but Club and Committee member, Adam Nelson.

It turns out that Adam not only keeps our postal service going during a global crisis but his alter ego is also raising funds for Ballymena food bank and entertaining the local kids during their enforced confinement. And there was I, thinking the bat suit was Post Office issue Personal Protective Equipment.



And so, children, at some point in the future some grown-up or other will try to tell you that superheroes don't really exist - But they do!

43 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

2022 Season Report.

Well, I almost can't be bothered, and the less said the better. It would be true to say that fishing conditions on the local spate rivers were less than ideal, with spring and summer drought coupled w

bottom of page