top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaul Gault

There's no justice!

After endlessly, and fruitlessly, beating up and down the Braid in search of the elusive "King of the River", club member Shaun Turner sent me a nice photo of a salmon which he caught downstream of Braid Carry.

Now, here's the irritating thing. Shaun had decided to do a bit of light trouting and went to the river armed with a poxy 3wt and a Perdigon nymph. Nevertheless, the beast was landed and released successfully. It was clearly a bit of a shock, though. Or to quote Shaun - " Never will I go to that river again at this time of year with a 3wt".

Mind you, it got me thinking. Maybe it's time to ditch my box of Ally's, Cascades, and Bann Specials etc. I've been hearing other reports of good results with oversize Diawl Bachs with hot orange heads, so perhaps our salmon are partial to nymph patterns? Before the season ends I'll definitely have to try these - but perhaps not on the end of a 3wt. And maybe a bigger net - Shaun.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2022 Season Report.

Well, I almost can't be bothered, and the less said the better. It would be true to say that fishing conditions on the local spate rivers were less than ideal, with spring and summer drought coupled w

bottom of page