top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaul Gault

They're here!

I don't often fish for salmon but when they start arriving in Club waters I can't help coming down with a bit of salmon fever. For some time they've been reported in the lower reaches of the system waiting for enough water to negotiate all the structure that lies between them and their spawning grounds, then a few days ago we had enough rain to get a nice little spate going. As the spate started dropping I headed out with appropriate rod and flies and concentrated on a few runs and pools that are known to hold the odd salmon. Before long I started catching fish - but not salmon - all small trout. Now I suppose any fish is better than none but you can't help feeling a bit silly standing in the river with your 10 foot 8 weight and a little six inch trout hanging on the end of a Cascade. Still, when I think about it, a rapidly retrieved flashy salmon fly in coloured water isn't unlike a spinner so might be attractive even to smaller trout in certain conditions.

The following day I tried again, but before I even got a fly in the water I bumped into fellow Committee member Robert "Rab" Neeson who instantly produced his phone to show me a photo of a still silver salmon caught a scant 20 yards from where we were standing. He was disappointed it was only three and a half pounds but come on Rab - it's a salmon! I think this might be the first caught on our stretch this season so someone remind me to try to get that pic for the gallery.

Now the good thing about being in a Club and still new to the dark art of salmon fishing is that there is no shortage of advice. When folks are reasonably sure you're half sensible and not about to take a harpoon to their favourite pool they start directing you to all the where, when and what. "Always use a sinking line" - some say. Ok. So I use a sinking line. "And orange; our fish like plenty of orange in the fly." Ok. So here's an orange fly. Practically tangoed in fact. Most of these anglers, like the aforesaid Rab, consistently land salmon - and I don't. Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not hiding something from you.

They said use orange and it doesn't come more orange than the "Chillimps", a prawn imitation from Scandinavia. Responsible for a record sea trout apparently. Now what's the chance?

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2022 Season Report.

Well, I almost can't be bothered, and the less said the better. It would be true to say that fishing conditions on the local spate rivers were less than ideal, with spring and summer drought coupled w

bottom of page